Bank of Fayetteville

Bank of Fayetteville

Tour Stop 6

Bank of Fayetteville

Next to Mrs. Young's building we have what is probably the other most iconic building on the Fayetteville Square.

Known today as the Bank of Fayetteville Building, it was designed by Rogers architect A.O. Clarke and completed in 1908. Although it started out as the W.T. Farrar Hardware store, it was known as the Lewis Brothers Hardware store for nearly 80 years. When John Lewis founded the current Bank of Fayetteville in 1987, he chose to locate the main office in his family's old hardware store. John was a tireless promoter of all things good about Fayetteville, and was often referred to as "Mr. Fayetteville".

A.O. Clarke was born in New York, moved to St. Louis to study architecture, and in 1904 moved to Rogers, Arkansas, to help Coin Harvey build his resort called "Monte Ne". Clarke designed the Missouri Row, the Oklahoma Row and the Monte Ne bank, and went on to design many of the finest buildings in Rogers.
From 1904 to 1935 he was the leading architect in the Northwest Arkansas area and designed two hotels, three banks, five churches, four commercial buildings, two high schools, a theater, and four government buildings. Thirteen of his buildings are listed on the National Register.


Photo Courtesy of: Shiloh Museum of Ozark History / Washington County HistoricalSociety Collection (P-1225)
History provided by: Gary Coover, Coover Consultants

Fayetteville Visitors Bureau

21 South Block Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701

479-521-5776 local
800-766-4626 toll free
479-521-4731 fax

Click here to map us on Google


You are here: Home Walking Tour Bank of Fayetteville