A & P Commission

ABOUT THE A&P                    HMR REPORTS                    A&P COMMISSION GRANTS

A&P BYLAWS                          AGENDA PACKETS           COMMISSIONERS
About the A&P Commission
Legislation created the Advertising and Promotion Commission in 1977 with the passage of the Hotel, Motel, Restaurant tax in Fayetteville. The state law prescribes the make-up of the Commission which includes: 4 hotel, motel or restaurant owners or managers, 2 members of the city council, and 1 member from the public at-large. Commission members serve four year staggered terms, ending March 31. City Council members are selected by the governing body of the city and serve at the will of the governing body. Vacancies of the other members are filled by appointment of the remaining members of the commission, with the approval of the governing body of the city.

The Commission is the body that determines the use of the city advertising and promotion fund.

By state legislation, all HMR funds shall be used:
1) for advertising and promoting the city and its environs
2) for the construction, reconstruction, equipment, improvement, maintenance, repair, and operation of a convention center
3) for the operation of tourist promotion facilities in the city
4) for personnel and agencies necessary to conduct the business of the A & P commission

HMR funds can also be used for:
1) for funding the arts
2) for operation of tourist-oriented facilities
3) for construction, reconstruction, repair, maintenance, improvement, equipping and operation of public recreation facilities and for the payment of bonds.

Taxes shall not be used for:
1) general capital improvements within the city
2) costs associated with general operation of the city
3) general subsidy of any civic group or chamber of commerce

The A & P Commission may contract with any group to provide actual services that are connected with tourism or conventions.

Meetings are held the third Monday of each month at 2:00 p.m. at the Fayetteville Town Center.


HMR Reports

*As of Tuesday, July 21, 2015, the City of Fayetteville will no longer give out individual sales tax information on the Hotel Motel Restaurant Tax report. Linked below is House Bill 1941, exempting tax records from being released under the Freedom of Information Act of 1967.

HB 1941


Agenda Packets

March 2017

February 2017

December 2016

November 2016

October 2016
October 2016 Fall Funding Requests - Part 1
October 2016 Fall Funding Requests - Part 2

September 2016

August 2016

July 2016

June 28, 2016 Special Session

June 2016

May, 31 2016
 Special Session

May 2016

April 2016

Spring 2016 Funding Packets

March 2016

January A & P Meeting Postponed Due to Illness

February 1, 2016
* Packet
* 2016 Proposed Budget
* Advertising Narrative
* 2015 Year in Review Press Release

December 2015

November 2015

October 2015
*Fall 2015 Funding Requests

September 2015

August 2015

July 2015

June 2015

May 2015 
*Updated Financials
Special Meeting - May 2015

April 2015
*Spring 2015 Funding Requests

March 2015

January 2015

December 2014

November 2014
*Executive Director Memo RE: Management Proposal from Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce*

October 2014

October 2014 Funding Requests

September 2014

August 2014

July 2014


A&P Commission Funding

Grants are awarded to projects that promote the city of Fayetteville, increase tourism and showcase the city in a positive way. Applicant projects must take place in the city of Fayetteville or have a direct impact on Fayetteville tourism, arts and culture, and HMR revenue. Grants will not be awarded to individuals.

The 2016 Grant Applications are currently under review.


 Current members of the Commission include:

(owner, Apple Blossom Brewing Co.) 
1515 E. Zion Rd. #1
Fayetteville, AR  72703

HANNAH WITHERS (term expires 3/31/17)
(owner, Maxine's Taproom.)
116 N. Block
Fayetteville, AR 72701

MATTHEW PETTY (term indefinite - appointed 01/13)
113 W. Mountain
Fayetteville, AR 72701

ROBERT RHOADS (term expires 3/31/17)
2791 Shadybrook Cove
Fayetteville, AR  72703

MATT BEHREND (term expires 3/31/19)
1251 N. Shiloh Drive
Fayetteville, AR 72704

TIM FREEMAN (term expires 3/31/16)
1254 N. Maxwell Dr.
Fayetteville, AR  72703
ADELLA GRAY (term indefinite -appointed 1/15)
113 West Mountain
Fayetteville, AR 72701
479-442-4958 (h)


Fayetteville Visitors Bureau

21 South Block Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701

479-521-5776 local
800-766-4626 toll free
479-521-4731 fax

Click here to map us on Google


You are here: Home Hidden A & P Commission